2015 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge

PHOTO: Ryan McLeod and Ben Jones celebrate after winning the 2015 OHL Cup. Both players will represent Canada at the 2015 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge. (ERIN RILEY)

Eleven GTHL graduates are among the 66 young men selected to represent Canada at the 2015 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge from Oct. 30 to Nov. 7 in Dawson Creek and Fort St. John, B.C. The players will be named to one of three teams – Canada Black, Canada Red and Canada White – before the puck drops at the end of the month.

Five members of the 2015 OHL Cup champion Toronto Marlboros – including captain Matthew Strome and tournament MVP Ryan McLeod – will hit the international stage for the first time. MVP goaltender Jake McGrath and forwards Ben Jones and Mackenzie Entwistle will also wear the maple leaf.

They will be joined by two members of the 2015 OHL Cup finalist Don Mills Flyers – captain Brett Neumann and David Levin, the No. 1 overall selection in last year’s OHL draft.

Markus Phillips and Reilly Webb – defensemen who helped the Toronto Titans win the Kraft Cup last season – and forwards Zach Gallant (Mississauga Rebels) and Owen Tippett (Toronto Red Wings) round out the list of GTHL graduates selected.

“It’s an exciting step for these players to represent their country for the first time, and we have a very talented group who will certainly give the fans in Dawson Creek and Fort St. John a lot to cheer about,” said Shawn Bullock, senior manager of hockey operations and men’s national teams for Hockey Canada.

“We’re happy with the depth we’re seeing with the under-17 group; it bodes well for the future of our program as these players look to progress through our system to the under-18 and junior programs.”

In addition to the three Canadian teams, the event features the Czech Republic, Finland, Russia, Sweden, and the United States.

The preliminary round begins Sunday, Nov. 1 when Canada Black and Canada White meet at Encana Events Centre in Dawson Creek (4:30 p.m. ET). Later that evening, Canada Red faces Finland at North Peace Arena in Fort St. John (9:00 p.m. ET).

The gold medal game is Saturday, Nov. 7 in Dawson Creek at 9:30 p.m. ET and will be shown nationally on TSN and RDS.

One semi-final (from Dawson Creek) and the bronze medal game also will be televised nationally. All other tournament games, including the semi-final game in Fort St. John, will be available via live webcast (

Eleven GTHL graduates also were selected to play for Canada at last year’s event – Jakob Chychrun, Travis Barron, Taylor Raddysh, Jordan Kyrou, Michael Pezzetta, Michael McLeod, Adam Mascherin, Givani Smith, Victor Mete, Reagan O’Grady and Cliff Pu. Ten of those players are eligible for the 2016 NHL Draft – O’Grady is eligible in 2017.

Click here to view the full Team Canada roster.

Jake McGrath, G Jan. 7, 1999 Mississauga St. Michael’s (OJHL) Toronto Marlboros
Markus Phillips, D Mar. 21, 1999 Vaughan Owen Sound (OHL) Toronto Titans
Reilly Webb, D Mar. 4, 1999 Stoney Creek Hamilton (OHL) Toronto Titans
Matthew Strome, F Jan. 6, 1999 Mississauga Hamilton (OHL) Toronto Marlboros
Ryan McLeod, F Sept 21, 1999 Mississauga Mississauga (OHL) Toronto Marlboros
Ben Jones, F Feb. 26, 1999 Waterloo Niagara (OHL) Toronto Marlboros
Mackenzie Entwistle, F July 14, 1999 Georgetown Hamilton (OHL) Toronto Marlboros
Brett Neumann, F Feb. 15, 1999 Toronto Erie (OHL) Don Mills Flyers
David Levin, F Sept 16, 1999 North York Sudbury (OHL) Don Mills Flyers
Zach Gallant, F Mar. 6, 1999 Oakville Peterborough (OHL) Mississauga Rebels
Owen Tippett, F Feb. 16, 1999 Peterborough Mississauga (OHL) Toronto Red Wings
More News
Beyond the Whistle: Sondermeyers in Stripes
3 days ago
GTHL Development Day presented by GSW welcomes over 75 participants
3 days ago
GALLERY: Development Day (Feb. 2024)
3 days ago
Q&A with FaZe Clan’s CBass
4 days ago
Registration for the 13th annual GTHL Legacy Classic is now open
4 days ago
Hockey’s Volunteer: A family affair
1 week ago