Goodall Media / OHL
Five GTHL alumni win 2024 OHL Championship

Oshawa, Ont. – The London Knights scored another dominant win over the Oshawa Generals on Wednesday, skating to a 7-1 victory in Game 4 to be crowned 2024 OHL Champions. Five Greater Toronto Hockey League alumni hoisted the J. Ross Robertson Cup as league champions:

  • Sam Dickinson (Toronto Marlboros)
  • Sam O’Reilly (Vaughan Kings)
  • Denver Barkey (Toronto Titans)
  • Isaiah George (Toronto Marlboros)
  • Alec Leonard (Reps Hockey Club)

Toronto Maple Leafs prospect Easton Cowan led the way with a goal and three assists in Game 4, finishing the playoffs with a league-leading 34 points (10-24–34) to earn the Wayne Gretzky 99 Award as OHL Playoff MVP. Kasper Halttunen followed-up back-to-back hat-tricks with two goals and an assist and Denver Barkey had three points as well, scoring while adding two helpers. Halttunen wrapped-up the postseason as the league’s goal-scoring leader, lighting the lamp 17 times.

London climbed out to a 3-1 lead after 20 minutes, added three more goals in the second period before William Nicholl finished off the scoring with his first of the postseason in the third.

The win secures the Knights their fifth J. Ross Robertson Cup in franchise history following previous championships in 2016, 2013, 2012 and 2005. The Knights get redemption after coming up short in last year’s OHL Championship Series against Peterborough.

London outshot Oshawa 30-26 in the win, going 3-for-4 on the powerplay. Michael Simpson stopped 25-of-26 to secure his second straight OHL championship in the crease.

The J. Ross Robertson Cup was presented to the leadership group of the London Knights by Commissioner David Branch, who will be retiring from his position this summer after 45 years of leading the Ontario Hockey League. Knights defenceman Ethan MacKinnon, who had his season cut short due to concussion-related challenges, was the first to hoist the trophy for London.

The Knights advance to the 2024 Memorial Cup presented by Dow that gets underway on Friday, May 24th in Saginaw, Michigan. The Knights will compete against the host Saginaw Spirit, QMJHL champion Drummondville Voltigeurs and the WHL champion Moose Jaw Warriors in pursuit of the 104th Memorial Cup.

For more on the 2024 OHL Champions, visit

Stay connected with the GTHL on FacebookX (Formerly Twitter)Instagram, and TikTok.

More News
2024 GTHL Awards: Frank D. Smith U18 'A' Scholarship Award
3 days ago
2024-2025 Important Dates
4 days ago
Coach 1 and Coach 2 clinics now open for registration
4 days ago
2024 GTHL Awards: Len Barrett U18 House League Scholarship Award
4 days ago
Five GTHL alumni help ECHL's Florida Everblades make history with third straight Kelly Cup title
5 days ago
Journey to Officiating: Lacey Senuk as the International Veteran
2 weeks ago