AHL opening weekend rosters feature 43 GTHL graduates

The American Hockey League 2021-22 season begins Friday, October 15 with a total of 43 Greater Toronto Hockey League alumni featured on opening night rosters.

Out of 31 AHL teams, at least 24 include at least one GTHL graduate with the Toronto Marlies leading the way with five. Second and third on the list are the Henderson Silver Knights and the Abbotsford Canucks with four and three alumni respectively.

The AHL has a total of 29 games over opening weekend with former Toronto Marlboro Rich Clune and the Marlies slated to host former Don Mills Flyer Declan Chisholm and the Manitoba Moose on Saturday, October 16.

Abbotsford Canucks (3): 

  • Spencer Martin (Toronto Jr. Canadiens)  
  • Phil Di Giuseppe (Vaughan Kings) 
  • Ethan Keppen (Toronto Nationals) 

Belleville Senators (2): 

  • Philippe Daoust (Don Mills Flyers)
  • Andrew Agozzino (Mississauga IceDogs, Vaughan Kings)

Bridgeport Islanders (1): 

  • Chris Terry (Markham Islanders) 

Chicago Wolves (1): 

  • Jamieson Rees (Mississauga Reps)

Cleveland Monsters (2): 

  • Thomas Schemitsch (Toronto Titans, Mississauga Senators)
  • Liam Foudy (Markham Majors)

Colorado Eagles (1): 

  • Roland McKeown (Toronto Marlboros) 

Henderson Silver Knights (4): 

  • Ben Jones (Toronto Marlboros) 
  • Mason Primeau (Toronto Nationals) 
  • Alan Quine (Toronto Nationals) 
  • Ben Thompson (Mississauga Reps) 

Hershey Bears (2): 

  • Kody Clark (Toronto Marlboros)  
  • Matt Moulson (Mississauga Braves) 

Iowa Wild (1): 

  • Joseph Cramarossa (Markham Majors) 

Lehigh Valley Phantoms (2): 

  • Adam Clendening (Toronto Marlboros)  
  • Matt Strome (Toronto Marlboros) 

Manitoba Moose (1): 

  • Declan Chisholm (Don Mills Flyers) 

Ontario Region (2): 

  • Sean Durzi (Mississauga Rebels) 
  • Markus Phillips (Toronto Titans)  

Rocket Laval (1): 

  • Michael Pezzetta (Mississauga Senators) 

Rochester Americans (1):  

  • Brett Murray (Toronto Nationals) 

Rockford IceHogs (1): 

  • Malcolm Subban (Toronto Marlboros, Mississauga Reps) 

San Diego Gulls (1):

  • Sam Carrick (Toronto Red Wings)

San Jose Barracuda (2): 

  • Zach Gallant (Mississauga Rebels)
  • Ryan Merkley (Toronto Jr. Canadiens)

Springfield Thunderbirds (1): 

  • Tyler Tucker (Toronto Nationals) 

Syracuse Crunch (2): 

  • Matthew Hill (Toronto Jr. Canadiens) 
  • Darren Raddysh (Toronto Marlboros) 

Texas Stars (1):  

  • Riley Damiani (Mississauga Rebels) 

Toronto Marlies (5): 

  • Rich Clune (Toronto Marlboros)
  • Curtis Douglas (Mississauga Senators)
  • Josh Ho-Sang (Toronto Marlboros)
  • Noel Hoefenmayer (Don Mills Flyers)
  • Michael Hutchinson (Markham Majors)

Tucson Roadrunners (2): 

  • Travis Barron (Toronto Jr. Canadiens)
  • Barrett Hayton (Toronto Red Wings)

Utica Comets (2): 

  • Graeme Clarke (Toronto Marlboros)
  • Michael Vukojevic (Mississauga Rebels)

Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins (2): 

  • Jamie Devane (Vaughan Kings)
  • Will Reilly (Toronto Red Wings)

Stay connected with the GTHL on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and TikTok.

More News
Jason Payne creates Payner's Pals, introducing hockey to kids
5 days ago
The GTHL is hiring for the 2022-23 season!
1 week ago
18 GTHL players featured in 2022 OHL Under-18 Priority Selection
2 weeks ago
GTHL supports MLSE Foundation and Scotiabank’s Hockey Coach Education Program
2 weeks ago
38 GTHL alumni set for 2022 NHL Playoffs
2 weeks ago
GTHL announces U11-U18 team entries for 2022-23 season
2 weeks ago