GTHL announces officiating selections for 2024 U18 All-Star Festival fuelled by Gatorade

TORONTO, ON – The Greater Toronto Hockey League announced today the officiating selections for the 2024 Under-18 All-Star Festival fuelled by Gatorade.

The 22nd edition of the U18 All-Star Festival fuelled by Gatorade is Saturday, January 27, with the ‘A’ All-Star Game setting the stage at 10:00AM followed by the ‘AA’ All-Stars in a matinee match-up at 1:00PM. The ‘AAA’ All-Star Game caps off the festivities with a 4:00PM puck drop. All games will take place on Rink 1 of Scotiabank Pond. Admission to the festival, including all games, is free of charge.

The crew selected for the U18 ‘AAA’ All-Star Game is chosen by the GTHL’s officiating leadership and is an accomplishment based on ability, dedication, and promoting the large pool of officials in the League. The selections, similar to that of a player, follow the path of an official from starting their career in house league programs, to moving through the North York Hockey League (NYHL), Mississauga Hockey League (MHL), and GTHL competitive officiating program.

Selections for the U18 ‘AA’ and ‘A’ All-Star Games are selected by the GTHL’s officiating leadership and rewards officials by picking a senior official who has the opportunity to build their own officiating crew.

“As veteran officials move through our officiating program, they develop into an on-ice mentorship role with newer officials,” GTHL General Manager Peter Kourtis said. “The U18 ‘AA’ and ‘A’ All-Star Games is an opportunity to bring those veterans together on the ice. The League has seen many creative crews in the past – from all-Mississauga crews, Scarborough crews, grey beard crews, 1990s crews, and many more.”

2024 U18 ‘A’ All-Star Game (Saturday, January 27 at 10:00AM) 

  • Referees: Tristan Shen and Troy Whetstone
  • Linespersons: Ian Steele and Danielle Williams

2024 U18 ‘AA’ All-Star Game (Saturday, January 27 at 1:00PM) 

  • Referees: Dan O’Callaghan and Matt Sutton
  • Linespersons: Derek Risebrough and Ryan Logan*

*Replacement for Broidy Rondelet (unable to attend) 

2024 U18 ‘AAA’ All-Star Game (Saturday, January 27 at 4:00PM) 

  • Referees: Scott Costello and Colton Peak
  • Linespersons: Nathan Garito and Jonathan Plourde

For more information on the U18 All-Star Festival, click here.

Stay connected with the GTHL on FacebookX (Formerly Twitter)Instagram, and TikTok.

More News
35 GTHL alumni invited to Canada's Program of Excellence summer camps
7 hours ago
2023-24 GTHL Annual Report
5 days ago
GTHL helps contribute over $214,800 to community
5 days ago
2024 GTHL Legacy Classic 50/50 winning ticket: LC-8500169
6 days ago
Win big with the 2024 GTHL Legacy Classic 50/50 in support of the GTHL Legacy Fund
2 weeks ago
24 GTHL alumni selected in 2024 NHL Draft
2 weeks ago